Good news. The proposed DUI law changes that passed the Kansas Senate will be retroactive. Thus, if your DUI test failure of between .08 and .15 BAC on a second or more occurrence now subjects you to a 1-year suspension of your DL, it will revert to a 45 day suspension after July 1 (followed by a 1, 2, 3 and longer interlock period). Of course, this is true only if the House passes the bill and the Governor lets it become law.
I’ve always been perplexed by the reasoning that goes into DL suspensions of a year or more (for DUI suspensions and otherwise). Practical aspects of this modern world compel most suspended drivers to drive, and when they do it often results in accidents without insurance, which means you and I get our insurance rates hiked to cover for the uninsurable suspended drivers. It seems to me that mandatory interlocks are much more sensible. This option means that any measurable amount of alcohol in the previously convicted drunk driver would make it impossible for him to operate his motor vehicle yet he would still be able to transport his family and friends while in a sober state.
Another idea. Prison for the thrice convicted DUI convict who drives in a vehicle without an interlock, or at least make the crime a grid felony that would result in probation followed by prison if he violates terms and conditions of probation.
Allegedly, there’s a commission in Kansas that is weighing lots of options for DUIs. Too bad any changes will be publicity driven (it’s a MADD, MADD world) and likely be devoid of any common sense whatsoever.